You might be asking yourself what the hell is NaNoWriMo. 

Well, let me tell you.

It's National Novel Writing Month. People from all over the world participate in the challenge to get 50,000 words of a novel written in one month- that month being November. 

There are a few key terms that you should know. 

Planners: Outline. Character bubble charts. Overall organized perfection prior to writing a novel.

Panster: Aka me. Aka flying by the seat of your pants. I know how to outline, don't get me wrong. It's just that when I write my characters dictate the story. (cue crazy creepy writer music) (she hears voices, she is so weird- I'm okay with it.) 

Then there is the mash up of the two although I don't really know if they have an official title.

So my major debate right now is: I am 36k into my current work in progress (wip for short) and I am to the EXCITING part. The big bang, the climax-if you will. So my question is... do I finish my YA sci-fi thriller or do I start writing book 2 in my Thalassa series? What do you think?? 

I would love to hear from you! 

Are you a panster or a planner? 
Do you write systematically or balls to the wall? 

Xo,

Rube

10/23/2013 02:33:31 am

I would keep going with your WIP, especially if you're pantsing it. Loosing that momentum would not be fun. Plus keeping two books worth of characters in one's head can get crowded! No matter what, good luck! I'll be doing NaNoWriMo for the first time too and am excited :)

Reply



Leave a Reply.