My Mom is a huge support in my life. She always has been. 

Since I have entered into the Writing world, she has been excited and curious. 
Like most Moms are. (I would guess.)
She dutifully calls me once a week (usually more, but) to talk about my writing. She always inevitably asks if I have heard from any agents. 

So we have the conversation of "No, not yet Mom."
When will you hear? "I have no idea? From what I understand the publishing process is a long one, it could be hours it could be months or even a year." (sigh from her) Oh. But I just love your story. (Glad I have my Mom, we all need someone to cheer us on.) "I know Mom, thanks. I guess it will all work out when and how it is supposed to." Yeah that is absolutely right. (cue motivational speech) 

So, for those of you who know I was lucky enough to be sent to New York City by my husband as a birthday gift. There I attended a Writing Conference and got to meet with agents in a Pitch Slam. (Imagine speed dating, but with books. Bells and all) I met with ten agents, had ten people request. Since then I have heard from six of them, being very polite versions of "You are a great writer, I'm afraid I just didn't connect and you want someone to love this who is going to sell it." All of the rejections were right, I do want someone to love it and marry it and produce millions of book babies around the world. :) (you like that?) 




That is where I am. Being patient is definitely a virtue (one that I don't really possess.) I could lie and pretend I am cool as a cucumber any time my inbox dings or that I wasn't manically checking QueryTracker and following the agents I have queried on Twitter. But I do all those things. In the mean time I write and critique other authors works in progress. Always moving forward. 

Xo,

Kelli

10/2/2013 05:09:39 am

Moms are funny that way. I think I had the same conversation with my own last night. Hoping your inbox dings with good news soon!

Reply
10/11/2013 04:47:31 am

I hope it dings soon too. Gotta love our Mommas!

Reply
10/11/2013 05:42:05 am

Great blog post. I am not a big fan of reading blogs myself but came across this post via twitter and thought it came off very smart and relatable. I have always been in a similar boat with my mother. I feel lucky I have a forever fan in her. Keep up the good posts on your journey to publication.

Reply
Ruby
10/11/2013 05:43:40 am

Thanks Libby! That means a lot to me. Happy Friday!

Reply
10/12/2013 02:51:00 am

Great post. Searching for an agent, waiting - it's harder than the writing. Whenever I start to get discouraged, I read this article about Kathryn Stockett (The Help).http://www.more.com/kathryn-stockett-help-best-seller
Good luck to you Ruby.
Judy

Reply
Ruby
10/13/2013 02:59:54 am

Thanks for pointing me to that article! It was fabulous and inspiring. (And I LOVED The Help!)

Reply



Leave a Reply.